Settings > Hosts > Hosts Table

All your hosts of MAMP PRO are listed in the hosts table. For more structure, you can change the order of the hosts using drag & drop and you can also group hosts together. If the servers are running, then you can open a host by double-clicking on its name in your default browser.

In the header line of the hosts list, you can filter the list of hosts according to predefined criteria. In the footer, the “+” button lets you create a new host and the “-“ button lets you delete the selected host.

The host icons and their meaning:

The gear button provides you with many more options.

MAMP PRO - Hosts table

  • localhost
    The virtual host “localhost” is created by default and cannot be deleted.

  • Groups
    Hosts can be grouped into virtual folders for convenience. To create a group press the settings button at the bottom of the hosts table.

  • Blueprints
    Hosts in this group can be used as templates when creating new hosts. To create a new host based on a host in this group, click here.

  • Inactive Hosts
    When a host is temporarily not needed it can be moved to the “Inactive Hosts” group. Inactive hosts will not be written to the “hosts” file when your servers are started, and will be inaccessible.

  • Trash
    When you no longer need a host, move it to the Trash. Simply drag it to the Trash or select it and click the “-“ button at the bottom of the Hosts list.

    Hosts in the Trash will be ignored when writing the web servers config files and will not be put in “/etc/hosts”. To delete individual hosts select the host in the Trash and click the “-“ button, “Empty Trash…” from the contextual menu deletes all trashed hosts.

    You have the option to automatically delete the following elements when deleting the host:

    • the document root directory of the host
    • the databases of installed extras
    • mapped databases
    • data from Cloud
    • snapshots folder

    The individual entries are only active if there is corresponding data for them. Please note that the data will be permanently deleted and cannot be restored.

New host

To create a new host click on the “+” button at the bottom of the Hosts table. All further information about creating new hosts can be found here.